More than 20 people from Hertfordshire have received honours in HM The King’s Birthday Honours List 2024, published today by the Cabinet Office.   

The King's Honours List rewards and celebrates individuals who have initiated change where it was needed, developed innovative solutions that have had an immeasurable impact on the lives of thousands of people across the country.

Many are active community champions, innovative social entrepreneurs, pioneering scientists, passionate health workers and dedicated volunteers who have gone the extra mile. 

Here's the full list of all of the Hertfordshire heroes who have been recognised in this year's list. 


  1. Sarah Connolly - Lately Director, Security and Online Harms, Department for Science, Innovation and Technology. For services to Online Safety
  2. Armando Iannucci OBE - Writer, Director and Producer. For services to Film and Television (Hemel Hempstead)
  3. Dr Fiona Spencer - Advisory Director, Infrastructure and Project Authority, Cabinet Office. For Public Service (St Albans)
  4. Dr Yvonne Braun - Director of Policy, Long Term Savings, Health and Protection, Association of British Insurers. For services to the Pensions Industry and to Socio-Economic Diversity (St Albans)
  5. Paul Brinkworth - Case Controller, Serious Fraud Office. For services to Justice 
  6. Dr David Griffiths-Johnson - Head, Manufacturing Funds, Partnerships and Innovation, Office for Life Sciences. For services to Life Sciences (Welwyn Garden City)
  7. Professor Katrin Hohl - Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, City, University of London. For services to Victims of Sexual Violence (Hitchin)
  8. Gary Lashko -  Chief Executive Officer, Royal Hospital Chelsea. For services to Veterans (Royston)
  9. Rachel Maze - Deputy Head, Office for Quantum, Department for Science, Innovation and Technology. For services to Quantum Technologies (Royston)
  10. Suzannah Nichol MBE - Chief Executive Officer, Build UK. For services to the Construction Industry (Ware)
  11. Christopher White - Lately Member and Leader, St Albans City and District Council. For services to Local Government (St Albans)


  1. David Allen - Executive Head Teacher, Links Multi Academy Trust, St Albans, Hertfordshire. For services to Education (Hatfield)
  2. David Fisher - Executive Director, Client Services, St Mungo's. For services to Homeless People (St Albans)
  3. Caroline Hay - Police Inspector, City of London Police. For services to Policing 
  4. Dr Emma Hindley -  Bill Manager, Online Safety Bill, Department for Science, Innovation and Technology. For services to Online Safety (St Albans)
  5. Verity Jean Maclachlan -  Trainer, 1st Radlett Guides and Radlett District. For services to Young People in Radlett, Hertfordshire (Radlett)
  6. Richard Nettleton -  Lately Principal Plant Health and Seeds Inspector, Animal and Plant Health Agency and Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. For services to Plant Health (St Albans)
  7. Martin Segal - For services to Terminal Cancer Patients and Cancer Research (Borehamwood)
  8. Stuart Storey - Chair, Lea Recreation Society and Chair, Wodson Park Trust. For services to Sport and to the community in East Hertfordshire (Ware)
  9. Kenneth Wax -  Lately President, Society of London Theatre and lately Chair, Theatre Development Trust. For services to Charity and to the Arts (Potters Bar)
  10. Andrew Williams -  Lately Leader, Dacorum Borough Council. For Public Service (Hemel Hempstead)


  1. Warrant Officer Benjamin Mearing RNR District -  Warrant Officer, Hertfordshire District, Eastern Area Sea Cadets. For voluntary services to Young People (Stevenage)

  2. Susan Johnson - Cub Scout Leader, 1st Rickmansworth Cub Scouts. For services to Young People in Rickmansworth

  3. Kathleen Lewis - Volunteer, The Hospice of St Francis. For services to the Hospice Community in Hertfordshire (Tring)

  4. Deborah Pezzani - Co-Founder, Teens Unite. For services to Teenagers and Young Adults with Cancer (Broxbourne)
  5. Timothy Smith - Director of Music, St Mary's Church, Harrow on the Hill, London Borough of Harrow. For services to Music and to Education (Rickmansworth)
  6. Lucy Thompson - Founder, Trustee and Volunteer, Childbase Charity Support Fund. For services to Charity and to the community in Hertfordshire (Watford)